Armenia’s defense minister heads ruling party’s election list

Armenia’s defense minister will head the election list of the Republican Party of Armenia for the upcoming parliamentary elections, spokesperson for the party Eduard Sharmazanov told reporters on Tuesday.

The second in the list is Yerevan mayor Taron Margaryan followed by Justice Minister Arpine Hovhannisyan, MP Ara Babloyan and culture minister Armen Amiryan.

The campaign headquarters will be headed by President Serzh Sargsyan.

According to ruling party’s spokesperson, if RPA is a party to form a cabinet after elections, PM Karen Karapetyan will preserve the seat.