Atom Egoyan receives highest honor for artistic achievements

Egoyan-AtomCanadian Armenian filmmaker Atom Egoyan is among the 2015 winners of the Governor General’s Performing Arts Awards, Asbarez reports.

Five Canadians were named for the country’s highest honor for lifetime artistic achievement. The winners included Walter Boudreau, C.M., composer, conductor and artistic director; Atom Egoyan, film and stage director; Diana Leblanc, actress and director; Sarah McLachlan, singer, songwriter; and R.H. Thomson, C.M., actor, director, producer and arts advocate.

The winners will also get a $25,000 cash prize privided by the Canada Council for the Arts and a commemorative medallion produced by the Royal Canadian Mint. The awards will be handed out by Canada’s Governor General David Johnston at a special ceremony in Ottawa’s Rideau Hall on May 29. The recipients will be celebrated with a star-studded gala concert on May 30.

Founded in 1992, the Governor General’s Performing Arts Awards are given to Canadians whose accomplishments are deemed to have inspired and enriched the country.